Why do we ask for permission to retrieve and post updates to LinkedIn as you?

This permission gives us the ability in the future to offer you the ability to share what you have done on the TrustRadius site with your LinkedIn connections (e.g. after you have written a review you may want to promote it).

We have not yet implemented this feature, but wanted to secure the necessary permissions from our users prior to implementing it.  This is in part to ensure that our users are comfortable with providing us with this access.

It is important to note that we will never send any communications on your behalf without you specifically authorizing and reviewing the content at the time of sending the communications.  This would be a violation of our confidence with our users as well as a violation of the LinkedIn terms of use for their API (excerpted from https://developer.linkedin.com/documents/post-network-update  below);

  • A network update must be associated with a specific user action, not an automated or scheduled event. A user simply navigating through your application is not a significant event. Typically, a user must create content on your site for the event to be significant.
  • The user must be given a choice about whether to send the message. The user must opt into the messages being sent rather than opt out.
  • A network update must come at or around the time of the user action the update makes reference to.
  • A network update must be posted only once and only once by the user who initiated the action.
  • A network update must not be sent for users who were acted upon. So, if a user just presented at a conference, that might be a good network update to send. But every member of the audience should not send a network update saying they were in the audience.
  • An application must not offer any direct incentive to the user as a reward for issuing a network update.
  • An application must not offer any direct incentive to the recipients of a network update.


Feedback and Knowledge Base